SubscribeAdvertise here: Contact FM.
Hi,
I am one of the two admins on Metafilter.com. Recently a brand new user posted a really spammy link to Revver.com on the front page. This sort of thing is usually against the rules (spam links are against the rules, enthusiastic "hey I like this thing I found" are okay). Since you are the PR company that handles Revver and I know you are fairly blog savvy, I want to ask a straightforward question:
Do you have people working for you (in whatever way you want to interpret "work") whose job it is to promote your clients' interests on blogs in guerilla marketing style, and is this post your work in some way?
http://www.metafilter.com/mefi/50484
If so, you should fire the guy who posted the revver.com link. If not, perhaps you should try to hire him since he almost got below the radar.
In any case, as an overworked site admin, I hope this isn't something that your company is involved with. It's distasteful, wastes my time, and spreads ill will towards your client.
Thanks for your time.
Jessamyn West
MetaFilter site admin
Hi Jessamyn,Just as an FYI. Blingo, I think you should let this drop. It's clear that your version of MetaFilter where linking to your friends awesome band is an excellent thing to do and the more restrictive version where it's practically self-linking are somewhat at odds. And while neither is quite how we do things here, many people err on the more restrictive interpretation and bristle when they see posts talking about how awesome some new way to make money is.
Thanks for your e-mail. No, it was not posted by Edelman.
Edelman does not encourage this behavior within its account teams, and
we'll investigate whether the link originated from Revver and counsel
accordingly.
Rest assured, Edelman has no interest in performing "astroturf"
campaigns.
Best Regards,
Betsy Damus
Maybe I'm just being paranoid, but I wanted to point it out as a possible problem.
posted by Malor at 5:01 PM on March 29, 2006