15 posts tagged with askme and preview.
Displaying 1 through 15 of 15. Subscribe:

Passive-aggressive preview page

Irritable-old-man-pony request: could AskMe guidelines go directly on the new-question page, at least the list of things that don't make a great question? Or maybe... [more inside]
posted by supercres on Nov 10, 2011 - 22 comments

Line Break Issues in "Preview"

It's pretty annoying that inserting carriage returns shows line breaks as typed in the "preview" window, but the final result is breakless (after all, what's the point of the preview?). I've had unpredictable results manually adding "BR" tags and "P" tags...they seem to sporadically interact with the typed carriage returns and yield vast white space. If anyone can point me to a workaround, I'd be appreciative. But, really, it'd be fitting if postings posted per the preview, no?
posted by jimmyjimjim on Dec 10, 2007 - 29 comments

AskMe preview is broken when the post contains list tags.

AskMe preview is broken when the post contains list tags.
posted by AmbroseChapel on Nov 9, 2006 - 3 comments

Background color works in preview, but not in post

Hmph. I made a couple of paragraph elements with a background color to highlight colors in this green thread. [more inside]
posted by symphonik on May 31, 2006 - 14 comments

On AskMe, long comment preview is broken.

cannot preview long comments in askme
posted by andrew cooke on Apr 12, 2006 - 16 comments

Linebreaks in preview on AskMe.

AskMe apparently trims line breaks from posts. I guess I understand this, but it would be nice if it also happened in the preview. In preview, my line breaks were still intact, so I hit the post button, and now my post looks a bit silly. Not the end of the world, but I figure it can't be intentional.
posted by bingo on Jan 15, 2006 - 12 comments

Descriptive text error on AskMe preview page

Descriptive text error on AskMe preview page (+)
posted by blag on Sep 21, 2005 - 3 comments

HTML Markup in AskMe

When creating an ordered list (and possibly a bulleted list) for an AxeMe question, it shows up in the preview in Times New Roman. It appears fine when posted.
posted by keswick on Sep 12, 2005 - 6 comments

AskMe bugs

TwoBugsInAskMetaFilterFilter... [mi]
posted by dirtynumbangelboy on Jul 24, 2005 - 12 comments

Minor quibbles about AskMe

Two minor improvements to the Ask MetaFilter posting page: the Preview should include the [more inside] notification, and the button should say "Preview the question" instead of "Preview the link."
posted by kirkaracha on Jul 14, 2005 - 4 comments

Preview AskMe tweaks

When previewing a question on AskMe, under the "Your Question" field is the description for the "Extended Explanation" field: This will be the "more inside" area where you explain additional details about the question if necessary. If you use this space, don't write "more inside" to the question area, it will automatically be added for you.
posted by rhapsodie on Jun 28, 2005 - 6 comments

Wording of the preview button on AskMe

When posting a question to AskMefi or a thread on MetaTalk, the preview button says "Preview the Link." Should it say "Preview the question" or "Preview the post" instead? (Is no nit too small for picking?)
posted by patgas on Jun 6, 2005 - 3 comments

Where is the rest of my question?

I wanted to post a question to AskMe, which I see ok in preview but when I hit post, only 1 sentence of it comes up and I get a 404 page saying the rest of it can't be found, etc. I'm using Mozilla 1.4 on Windows XP but I tried it in IE6 and the same thing happened. What am I doing wrong?
posted by Lynsey on Jan 10, 2004 - 7 comments

Weird Character Entity Behavior

If you include a character entity in text for preview then it is displayed correctly and appears (as the appropriate character) in the edit area. However, when you click post, the character is converted to "?" (ie. posting character entities is OK, but if they're previewed then they're converted to the equivalent extended character, which is not accepted by "post").
posted by andrew cooke on Jan 3, 2004 - 5 comments

AskMe preview confusion

When getting ready to submit a Q to AskMe, the far right button says "Preview Link", which might prove to be slightly misleading to newbies as AskMe is not required de jure or de facto to have any links. Recommend the button be changed to "Preview Questions."

Also, when looking at my most previous posts, I can find my MeTa and MeFi posts but no direct link to my AskMe posts in my profile (hey don't act like you don't do it). Might be good if we make the posts more accessable via user page.
posted by Dagobert on Dec 29, 2003 - 2 comments

Page: 1