Join 3,424 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

If you press the preview button this will disappear
January 1, 2008 5:21 PM   Subscribe

When you preview a comment the post's title disappears both in the browser's title bar and at the top of the page. Is that supposed to happen? Because it seems weird to me.
posted by sveskemus to Bugs at 5:21 PM (15 comments total)

Yeah I think it's normal. You'll notice the timezone goes all kablooey too, unless you live in PST-land.
posted by jessamyn (staff) at 5:26 PM on January 1, 2008


Or rather, it doesn't disappear, you just go to this weird interstitial page. I bet we could put the title back on it though.
posted by jessamyn (staff) at 5:28 PM on January 1, 2008


It seems weird to me too. It's supposed to happen in the sense that nothing particularly has broken recently, if that's what you mean, but I think the preview page may get a little less love than other things and so has had a little wonkiness accrue over time.
posted by cortex (staff) at 5:32 PM on January 1, 2008


I personally shower the preview page with my copious love.
posted by Wolfdog at 5:38 PM on January 1, 2008


Also note that the only place you see userlinks in the format http://www.metafilter.com/username.mefi/name-of-user rather than http://www.metafilter.com/user/xxxx is on the preview interstitial page. I've grown accustomed to this though, and fond of it. It almost feels like a deliberate compromise between ID number 'seniority'-measuring and hug-dispensing egalitarianism (although I'm pretty sure it's just a random bit of cruftiness).
posted by stavrosthewonderchicken at 5:40 PM on January 1, 2008


This is a treadjack, but can anyone give me tips for getting the real-time preview feature to work? Firefox 2.0.0.11 on Windows XP.
posted by "Tex" Connor and the Wily Roundup Boys at 5:47 PM on January 1, 2008


That's a browser/OS combination that ought to just work. Are you using any add-ons that blocks javascripts? I'd have to guess the problem is a conflict there, somewhere, possibly even with an adblocker getting overenthusiastic. Try disabling your add-ons, see if it works, and if so, re-enable them one by one, trying each time (after refreshing the page you're on), to see if you can find the culprit.
posted by stavrosthewonderchicken at 6:17 PM on January 1, 2008


Getting the real time preview should be as simple as enabling JavaScript and making sure that your MeFi preferences are set to show it (I think you need to be using the non-plain theme).

My threadjack: I would like the real time preview to keep working after you hit the preview button. Because I'm usually not done editing, I'm just checking to see if someone else has already posted what I'm about to post.
posted by anaelith at 6:18 PM on January 1, 2008


I think you need to be using the non-plain theme

Nope, it works fine in plain theme.
posted by stavrosthewonderchicken at 6:19 PM on January 1, 2008


preeeeeeeeeeeeeview

omg true!
posted by SassHat at 6:21 PM on January 1, 2008


Oh hey, so that's the formatting for a username-based, rather than a number-based user page url. Sweet. Thanks, stavros.
posted by Phire at 8:09 PM on January 1, 2008


so that's the formatting for a username-based...

it's in the faq, too in case you forget.
posted by jessamyn (staff) at 8:30 PM on January 1, 2008


The comment preview page was a hack, and remains so. As such, it is not likely to change*. So many of the fun features and ponies that have changed the face and functionality of the MeFi thread page never get ported to it; it is a remnant of what MeFi was like 5 years ago. Also, live preview has all but killed its usefulness for many people.

* Here's hoping that mathowie'll chime in to prove me wrong in the best way possible, like he usually does. ...Though I've been asking for an up-to-date preview page for seems ages.
posted by carsonb at 11:09 PM on January 1, 2008


<blush>Aw, and that's the FAQ I answered. Yay!</blush>
posted by carsonb at 11:12 PM on January 1, 2008


The preview also has no [915 favorites +]. Sometimes when I forget I'm previewing, I blink and feel like it's old times again.

Then I post the comment, they're back, and I'm sad.
posted by blacklite at 12:31 AM on January 2, 2008


« Older The Keynote Index Fund. In whi...  |  NY Meet-Ups... Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments