Personal ad review group June 11, 2013 1:51 PM   Subscribe

Since there are frequent posts in ask meta asking for reviews of an ok cupid ad, would there be an interest in the community in having a personal ad review group?

There already is a resume/cover letter review group, which was organized in this metatalk.

If there is interest, I thought that perhaps it could be similar to the resume/cover letter review group (i.e. a list of people who wanted to do so and placed into the wiki) and then people could email those people and ask for a one-on-review.

A different option would be to set up a yahoo or google group and people could opt into a mail list and review the ads for people who make a request. However, I am not sure if a google group would be appropriate (as in would it be active enough to have emails sent out, etc.).

Or are there yet other options and ways to do this?

It seems like to would be a useful thing to have in our community, but there may also may be no interest. Hence this metatalk to see if there would be.
posted by Wolfster to MetaFilter-Related at 1:51 PM (24 comments total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

I think it might work better as a discussion group format, like a Google group.
posted by showbiz_liz at 1:54 PM on June 11, 2013 [1 favorite]


I agree with showbiz_liz.

Neat idea, though. Not sure how many people would stick with it, but I'd certainly put mine up for review.
posted by batmonkey at 1:59 PM on June 11, 2013


I love reviewing profiles (I've done it for a number of friends) and would offer up mine for assessment as well.

I think a google group type thing would probably be better than the list of reviewers.
posted by bethnull at 2:33 PM on June 11, 2013


I'm not currently dating, but I do enjoy making suggestions about profiles for other people. So I would join and participate and then maybe when I'm back in the dating game, the group would help me. So, sure! But I'm not in any position to organize or wrangle anything.
posted by bilabial at 2:56 PM on June 11, 2013


I set up a google group.

Since metafilter is easy to search and read even if you aren't a member, I have it set up that you can join the group if I send you an invite. Just send me a memail with the best email to contact you and then within a day or so I will send an invite. Anyone who is part of metafilter can join.

It probably won't help to have any reviews until there is 10 or so people involved.

If anyone has any other suggestions, let me know; this is my best guess as a way to do it (google group).
posted by Wolfster at 3:42 PM on June 11, 2013 [2 favorites]


Aren't the sites themselves pretty much a place to get reviewed?
posted by ph00dz at 3:42 PM on June 11, 2013


frequent posts in ask meta asking for reviews of an ok cupid ad

Is there a part of AskMe I'm not seeing? Though this has certainly happened, it does not appear to happen with what I would call any real frequency.
posted by dersins at 3:54 PM on June 11, 2013


Well, there are PLENTY of posts along the lines of "I would like to go on a date but I am not able to find people to date because I am mad awkward, plz hope me." And then within about 15 seconds someone's all "OKCupid, yo!"

That is a pretty large group of people who would likely benefit from having a disinterested third party review their profile.
posted by phunniemee at 4:28 PM on June 11, 2013 [1 favorite]


My half-baked theory is that every time someone posts a question explicitly asking for feedback on their profile, it alerts a handful of people to the fact that this is a valid question on AskMe . Someone asked for a profile review in April of last year and there was a rash of subsequent questions (ok, like 10) over a brief period (ok, like 3 months) making profile questions totally a thing.
posted by Lorin at 4:36 PM on June 11, 2013 [2 favorites]


Interesting. I've seen it come up, for sure, but it never struck me as a frequently asked question along the lines of, say, "what bag should I get", or "thinly-veiled-excuse-to-ask-for-recipes-that-gets-a-zillion-favorites".
posted by dersins at 4:48 PM on June 11, 2013


Hey, we have jobs.metafilter.com -- how about love.metafilter.com? :D
posted by Jacqueline at 4:59 PM on June 11, 2013 [4 favorites]


Not finding what you need at love.metafilter.com? That's okay, cats.metafilter.com is always here for you.
posted by desjardins at 5:10 PM on June 11, 2013 [14 favorites]


Don't forget desjardins, the cat subsite is in French:

chat.metafilter.com
posted by carsonb at 5:45 PM on June 11, 2013 [16 favorites]


In my opinion the current method to just post a dating site profile over at the green makes more sense than to show it to a handful/dozen self-selected people in a review group.
Simply because the audience of ask.me mirrors the real life audience one would expect at a dating site more, both in diversity and in numbers.
posted by travelwithcats at 6:07 PM on June 11, 2013 [1 favorite]


dersins Is there a part of AskMe I'm not seeing? Though this has certainly happened, it does not appear to happen with what I would call any real frequency.

It was a thing last year, there was a Metatalk post on it.
posted by mlis at 7:11 PM on June 11, 2013


i'm all in favor of it
posted by Charlemagne In Sweatpants at 8:00 PM on June 11, 2013


My response to this is the same as my response to pretty much every proposal to create a separate section for certain types of questions: nice idea, but ... why not just have everyone post their questions to AskMe as usual?
posted by John Cohen at 9:20 PM on June 11, 2013


Well we've seen enough confirmation bias around here to know that that won't work, John Cohen.
posted by carsonb at 9:36 PM on June 11, 2013


I have just one small concern about this idea of a personal ad review group, which is this: it will inevitably lead to the destruction of our society.

Obviously this group will start with the best of intentions. Its participants will begin with helpful suggestions to change a single word in another's personal ad, or to suggest the best photo for an on-line profile. But soon these do-gooders will be re-writing whole personal descriptions to satiate their lust for power and their lust for lust. Then, it's only a short step for the "support group" to demand the right to chaperone the first date. And then they will want to BE on the date, i.e. to date collectievly, as a group! Individual/group dates (as opposed to the orthodox individual/individual, i.e. two-party, dates) are a gateway drug to orgies, which in turn will lead to calls for group/group marriages, i.e. polypolygamy.

As Lord Tebbit has so courageously pointed out, the current trend toward acceptance of gay marriage will lead DIRECTLY to a lesbian Queen with a sperm-donor baby - probably a multicultural one. So, what terrors will follow the normalization of polypolygamy? Her Majesty will, no doubt, be replaced by a group of lesbians married to a group of gay men, and all of them will be flinging their sperm and eggs around, caring nothing for where these Royal solids and fluids might splash and land. Embryonic Princes of Wales will result from the chance collision of sperm and egg, and thence congeal on street-corners, on the sides of lorries, or even on the lips of rubbish bins. These will gestate and grow into a vast, evil army of abandoned Princes of Wales, whose sole desire will be to kill, kill, KILL!!! and also to promote the interests of Wales.

Is that a society we wish to live in or on top of? I think NOT. Thus vote #1 quidnunc kid, and I will immediately ban all marriages which are not to me. Sorry, but the Prince of Wales threat must be stopped before it begins and if that means you people all die alone and unloved, it is a risk that I, for one, am willing to take.
posted by the quidnunc kid at 3:10 AM on June 12, 2013 [13 favorites]


I occasionally do this for people for free, who are writing kink themed ads, including helping seed their profiles with polite hints on more vanilla venues of search.
posted by Phalene at 9:59 AM on June 12, 2013


Is that a society we wish to live in or on top of? I think NOT. Thus vote #1 quidnunc kid, and I will immediately ban all marriages which are not to me.

So if we vote #1 quidnunc kid, we all get to marry you?
posted by winna at 11:27 AM on June 12, 2013


My response to this is the same as my response to pretty much every proposal to create a separate section for certain types of questions: nice idea, but ... why not just have everyone post their questions to AskMe as usual?

Agreed emphatically. I don't think the community is well served by creating separate sections for certain types of questions, pretty much ever.
posted by tangerine at 12:14 PM on June 12, 2013 [1 favorite]


Let's just cut to a Metafilter dating site already. All birds/one stone.
posted by thinkpiece at 9:46 AM on June 13, 2013 [2 favorites]


I am very happy to help with this, and have particular experience advising daters with specialised needs and interests.
posted by Mistress at 11:56 AM on June 13, 2013


« Older Trans* 101   |   Dear AskMe: Thanks. Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments