14 posts tagged with opinion.
Displaying 1 through 14 of 14. Subscribe:

Commentary in FPPs?

A lot of posts get deleted because they have too much "commentary" but in the metafilter about section it describes an ideal post as a link accompanied by commentary, perhaps this should be changed? [more inside]
posted by kylej on Dec 19, 2009 - 54 comments

Was it something I said?

That's the THIRD time I write an answer in the green and click on the close tab button. No, it wasn't by mistake, I just thought better of it. Is it me??!? The last one was the one was a question by Goodgrief ("Keep a name from a previous marriage?"). I realize the question is a little chatfilterish, but I was going to post my opinion; like most others were doing. Then, right as I was writing an answer, I thought... What if they don't like that answer? What if everybody thinks I'm a jerk for spouting my opinion? This has happened a little too much to be comfortable.
posted by Drasher on Dec 11, 2009 - 102 comments

Are there any opinions which cannot be held?

We saw two extremely emotional discussions yesterday on two extremely emotional topics. Some people in each thread held wildly unpopular views. Is there a moderator litmus test for censoring sincere opinions/arguments? [more inside]
posted by Damn That Television on Jan 5, 2009 - 86 comments

Metafilter: All opinion?

Metafilter: All opinion? According to Vanity Fair. [more inside]
posted by Zephyrial on Jun 13, 2008 - 1 comment

Answers, not opinions.

I don't understand why some of the answers to this question aren't being deleted. They are expressing their opinions about whether or not it's appropriate to give children psychiatric drugs, or what drugs have worked for children they knew, and that wasn't what was asked.
posted by desjardins on Jun 10, 2008 - 114 comments

Writing posts that adhere to MF style/content rules

I have a question about Metafilter post content/style. I've just had a post deleted and can't understand why even though there was a brief explanation given. [more inside]
posted by richards1052 on Oct 19, 2007 - 94 comments

going against the crowd? ok?

I've been letting my inner Stalinst (the one that I pretty much abandoned in college) comment for me and it's been fun having an opposing viewpoint instead of saying "yeah, me too!" Because that part of me has all the answers where the adult tends to shrug a lot. But I've been getting hate mail for it. Which is okay, even if it surprises me that anyone cares enough to actually do that.

But that leads me to my question-- does expressing strong views that run counter to general trends really ruin anyone's afternoon? My feeling has been that this is entertainment and no one's preconceived opinions ever change at the end of a discussion anyway. So polarity makes for more interesting angles instead of everyone nodding... [MI]
posted by Mayor Curley on Aug 12, 2005 - 147 comments

Opinions, not agenda

I humbly and publicly request a moratorium on referring to opinions as agendas. The linked thread is full of this. Not only does it stifle any sort of honest discussion, debate, or genuine and warranted insulting, it also seems slightly fascistic, Fox News-ish, and embarrassing.
posted by xmutex on May 3, 2004 - 46 comments

This post was deleted for the following reason: op-ed blah blah blah

"And so the 'high-signal territory' posse was born." I'd like to apologize in advance for being annoying, but I think that it's important (in a relative sense, at least) to do this.
posted by oissubke on Feb 21, 2003 - 94 comments

Opinion Debate

>Steven Den Beste: "But I've been informed that I'm not permitted to express opinions about what I post; I'm just supposed to post."

*cough* that's bull$#@! *cough* [more]
posted by ZachsMind on Nov 25, 2001 - 59 comments

Do MetaFilter discussions ever change your opinion on anything?

Do MetaFilter discussions ever change your opinion on anything? [more inside]
posted by gluechunk on Oct 27, 2001 - 31 comments

Comment length

Guidelines or opinions on ultra-long essay-style comments?
posted by skylar on Sep 23, 2001 - 4 comments

Link editorializing?

What's up with all the link editorializing (i.e. people who use their links to prove their preconceived opinion and make a point unrelated to the link content)?
posted by timothompson on Sep 21, 2001 - 4 comments

And you wonder where all the conservatives have gone...

Etiquette/Opinions/View of the poster.

Since this post discusses all of the above, I don't know any other way to begin, or to jump in, but here goes - I, as a somewhat conservative person, one of maybe 2 here on mefi, have tried to be reasonably patient. The reasoning behind it was something like 'well, this is just a joke, if I ignore, I won't bite the trap as to trolls do this on ngs and I have long since learned to killfire', and at times felt that; and since I'm mostly disagreed with, I feel that the very thought of me 'calling foul' would be met with great hostility. Maybe I was right.

Example. The topic of this post is an opinion of the poster, and he does in fact semi-self link. There's nothing wrong with offering your opinion, in fact it's great. I guess, let me put it this way - what if, say I, were to post a link saying 'Democrats really do think with their dick' and would link it to the Jesse Jackson story + a post on FreeRepublic with me saying this (I don't even want to go near the FreeRepublic, mind you). Not to whine, but, I really want you to see my side of this. There are many other examples, and I'll continue inside. (as to not take up the entire page)
posted by tiaka on Jan 17, 2001 - 30 comments

Page: 1