16 posts tagged with preview and html.
Displaying 1 through 16 of 16. Subscribe:

Live Preview feature is broken for Ask MetaFilter.

Live Preview feature is broken for Ask MetaFilter. [more inside]
posted by tylerkaraszewski on Jan 27, 2011 - 12 comments

Line Break Issues in "Preview"

Suggestion: In AskMeFi (and perhaps elsewhere, Idunno), line breaks in preview ought to look/work the same as when published. [more inside]
posted by jimmyjimjim on Oct 6, 2008 - 25 comments

On preview, zipperhead.

Previewed HTML works fine, posted HTML less so... [more inside]
posted by dirtdirt on Jan 11, 2008 - 36 comments

Line Break Issues in "Preview"

It's pretty annoying that inserting carriage returns shows line breaks as typed in the "preview" window, but the final result is breakless (after all, what's the point of the preview?). I've had unpredictable results manually adding "BR" tags and "P" tags...they seem to sporadically interact with the typed carriage returns and yield vast white space. If anyone can point me to a workaround, I'd be appreciative. But, really, it'd be fitting if postings posted per the preview, no?
posted by jimmyjimjim on Dec 10, 2007 - 29 comments

Rendering issues

I've come across a few issues in my latest AskMefi post related to rendering. [more inside]
posted by PuGZ on Oct 19, 2007 - 12 comments

Background color works in preview, but not in post

Hmph. I made a couple of paragraph elements with a background color to highlight colors in this green thread. [more inside]
posted by symphonik on May 31, 2006 - 14 comments

Formatting alert

In this post the formatting of the "posted by..." message is weird.
Using Firefox 1.5 on a Windows XP SP2 machine.
posted by matkline on Feb 28, 2006 - 8 comments

Preview on the main page keeps wrecking my FPP

Preview on the main page keeps wrecking my FPP.
posted by penguin pie on Nov 17, 2005 - 23 comments

HTML Markup in AskMe

When creating an ordered list (and possibly a bulleted list) for an AxeMe question, it shows up in the preview in Times New Roman. It appears fine when posted.
posted by keswick on Sep 12, 2005 - 6 comments

Preview breaks html character entities.

HTML entities, like Π or Σ get converted in the input area to the actual displayed characters after a preview.

So when the comment is posted, the displayed characters -- not the entities -- are actually submitted, and the submitted displayed characters are then converted to question marks in the posted comment.

The result is that a preview that looked fine turns into a comment that doesn't.

Also: using the
 tag (say to preserve original whitespace) results in double-spaced lines, taking up too much vertical space. Using the  tag prevents this, but whitespace is not preserved. Adding   appears to be a (n ugly and hard to edit) work-around, but while leading non-breaking spaces within  tags are retained in previews, they are stripped in the posted comment.

As a number of askMefi's ask for program code, and as even some FPPs may contain code fragments, this makes the code unreadable or even syntactically incorrect in languages than foolishly assign meaning to whitespace.

And it's a pure pain to spend the time to carefully add the whitespace and to Google the correct HTML entities for a post, only to see them stripped out.

(Browser: Firefox 1.0.3)

posted by orthogonality on Apr 27, 2005 - 70 comments

A malformed anchor tag breaks the preview page.

Posting with a malformed anchor tag makes a mess of the preview page, and comment text is gone when you hit Back to fix it. [more details inside]
posted by odinsdream on Apr 11, 2005 - 7 comments

HTML tag preview problem

In asking my HTML question, I was attempting to post the representation of an HR tag inside angle brackets using character entity references, and somehow I managed to post a real-live horizontal rule instead. But it looked fine on Preview. Brackets and ampersands and semicolons, oh my! (testing inside)
posted by brownpau on Apr 5, 2004 - 10 comments

problem with HTML in link

Link gets munged on preview [more inside.]
posted by homunculus on Feb 3, 2004 - 8 comments

Skeleton next comment preview

Perhaps on the preview of a post or a comment, there should be a skeleton "next comment" that would show whether one has screwed up in one's tags (whether not closing them, or inserting an extra ") Obviously, this is a response to this entry.
posted by meep on Mar 3, 2002 - 4 comments

Preview does not match post

This post had a white background when I previewed it (like this one still does), but it disappeared when I posted it. Shouldn't "Preview" mean "show me what I'll get if hit Post now"?

The HTML filter appears to have elided the "style=" and quote marks from the tag.
posted by nicwolff on Dec 20, 2001 - 19 comments

Putting HTML tags in a post works in preview, but not in the actual post

I wanted an HTML tag to appear in my post, so I typed ampersand-lt-semicolon and ampersand-gt-semicolon for the karats. Looked fine in preview, but they got converted to karats -- and therefore invisible comments -- for the post.
posted by luke on Sep 25, 2000 - 1 comment

Page: 1