Resume / cover letter review group March 27, 2012 12:59 PM   Subscribe

This might not be what meta talk is for, but is there a metafilter resume / cover letter review group?

I was reading this question, and specifically thinking about Clyde's response(the first one). I see tons of job seekers posting to ask mefi looking for help, and the truth is, posting a resume and cover letter to as public a site as metafilter might not be a great idea.

However, his point is very valid. I know there are many professionals on metafilter, and many people on metafilter looking to break into professions. A finely crafted resume and cover letter is far more crucial to the success of a job seeker than any other factor.

Basically, I was wondering if there was any interest in setting up a resume / cover letter review group. Something as simple as an email list would probably be sufficient for this purpose.

Perhaps something like this has been arranged in the past, and I know many alumni organizations have something like this, but given the importance of having a job, I think it might be a nice thing to have in our community.
posted by satori_movement to MetaFilter-Related at 12:59 PM (34 comments total) 13 users marked this as a favorite

I'm guessing there is no such a thing and the answer will be that there will be no such thing officially.

Also, "A finely crafted resume and cover letter is far more crucial to the success of a job seeker than any other factor."

Personally, almost every job I have ever gotten has been through networking. Several I even applied for after I'd already been being paid for doing the job.
posted by cjorgensen at 1:03 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


That could be interesting, if only because I seem to have lost all motivation in regard to applying for jobs.
posted by zennie at 1:21 PM on March 27, 2012 [3 favorites]


Cjorgensen, I was not suggesting anything 'official.' I just wanted to use this thread to see if there is any other mefites interested in the general idea. Obviously, we would be left to our own devices to organize.

Networking definitely helps, but without a good resume and cover letter, no one is going to look at a candidate twice regardless of who vouches for them.
posted by satori_movement at 1:28 PM on March 27, 2012


Whenever I see one of those AskMe posts, and I think I can be helpful, I contact the poster and offer to review their resume and cover letter for them. Most take me up on the offer, and I'm happy to help if I can. I don't know if we need an official group or anything, but I'm certainly willing to take a couple hours every now and then to do this; resumes and cover letters are critical, and most people do a crap job with them.
posted by NotMyselfRightNow at 1:30 PM on March 27, 2012 [2 favorites]


NotMyself, I bet there are mefites who do not want to start askmetafilter threads, and would
like their resume and cover letter reviewed.

Basically, they would just send off their resume and cover letter to an opt-in email list. Volunteers who wanted to spend an hour or two a week helping mefites with their job hunt would be on the other end.

google groups would be a real simple way to organize this for free.

I am not talking about anything complex here.
posted by satori_movement at 1:41 PM on March 27, 2012


It might be a thing too that could get organized on the wiki a little bit and then people could pick and choose if a 1 to 1 approach and not a many to many one is what is wanted.
posted by jessamyn (staff) at 1:42 PM on March 27, 2012


I'm in, guys. I just joined the ranks of the unemployed today. :(
posted by Phalene at 2:12 PM on March 27, 2012


oooh great idea Jessamyn.

One to one is way less intimidating. If we had a page which just listed the mefi members who are willing to do resume / cover letter reviews, and their profession, then any mefites who want to take advantage of the resource could do so.
posted by satori_movement at 2:22 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


Done.
posted by satori_movement at 2:29 PM on March 27, 2012 [9 favorites]


Rad idea and fast implementation. Kudos to both of you. I will definitely make use of this one day.
posted by lazaruslong at 2:46 PM on March 27, 2012


Oh no, Phalene! Good luck in your job search.
posted by the young rope-rider at 2:52 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


Maybe we could get it linked on the Jobs page, too?
posted by ApathyGirl at 3:05 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


excellent idea-signed up to help as well
posted by supercapitalist at 3:08 PM on March 27, 2012


I'd certainly appreciate this, if anyone within the entertainment industry were willing to take a gander at mine. I might have to sock puppet in order to submit it, though.
posted by These Birds of a Feather at 4:19 PM on March 27, 2012


I'm in, I've done this informally for members in the past. Good initiative.
posted by arcticseal at 5:18 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


I sat through a business and technical writing class some 5+ times a week for 2 semesters (4 years plus summer classes). This is like taking the same class some 40-50 times. I had some of the lectures memorized (I was a computer monitor). One day, some kid, assuming I was a TA asked me to review his resume. I figured, "Sure," but what he failed to tell me that this was for the class. I thought he was actually looking for a job. If he'd said it was for class I would have directed him to his instructor or to the writing center.

He had, Objective: To find a challenging and rewarding job within the Aerospace industry at the top of his resume.

I told him to dump that, since it was obvious. If he was sending his resume to a company the company knows what job he's applying for. He came back to argue the loss of points on his assignment. I got in a bit of trouble for "helping" him. The "Objective" was a required part of the resume.

Oh well.
posted by cjorgensen at 5:27 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


Several I even applied for after I'd already been being paid for doing the job.

Bwaaah?
posted by asnider at 8:53 PM on March 27, 2012


A finely crafted resume and cover letter is far more crucial to the success of a job seeker than any other factor

Untrue. Nothing tops nepotism, or the far more useful/widely applicable (and far less offensive) jewpotism.
posted by elizardbits at 9:38 PM on March 27, 2012 [4 favorites]


I always loved "networking", which really is just a euphemism for the process of restricting jobs to friends and people who run in your social circles, regardless of their job experience or capabilities. I know why it is done, how it ties in the referrer and adds an obligation not to screw up to the one referred.

I have heard more than a few stories from people I know who say "I have no idea how I got the job, I wasn't qualified at all!" And others who were up front about not being qualified, but got looked at, and the person just said "Can you learn how to do [thing they have no experience doing]" and they said yes, and got the job (and the applicant was fully aware of just what is going on, but shit they gotta eat too). And then of course there are the jobs where the person who is going to get the job already has it, and all the other people interviewing are basically wasting their time because the hiring team just needs to show they interviewed x amount of people. That's not me making up a hypothetical, I've witnessed it first hand multiple times.

When I share that bit of soul crushing despair with unaware friends and relatives I like to follow it up with the practicalities of the situation. People who review applications want to get done with it. They just want someone in there to do the job and get it done. Ever been on a hiring committee? That shit is time consuming and resource intensive. And once that is out of the way, they really want to know the person who is coming in isn't a fuckup. And nobody with a brain is going to refer their fuckup friend or relative because it makes them look bad. But they'll refer an inexperienced friend who is smart, even if they have no experience.

So yeah, forget the resume reviewing, set up a mefi "networking" system, and watch how quick the job seekers get a job. Heck, it is probably already happening on some of the unofficial mefi sites. Why wouldn't it be.
posted by cashman at 10:04 PM on March 27, 2012


In what planet is the term "jewpotism" less offensive than nepotism?
posted by needs more cowbell at 11:27 PM on March 27, 2012 [1 favorite]


Thanks for this. Just about to finish grad school and I could use all the help I can get. Hopefully, there someone out there with some international (education) development chops to steer my CV and cover letter writing in the right direction.
posted by sundaydriver at 3:44 AM on March 28, 2012


needs more cowbell: In what planet is the term "jewpotism" less offensive than nepotism?

The same planet where sarcasm exists, and Jews, like myself, enjoy self-deprecating humour.
posted by gman at 3:45 AM on March 28, 2012 [1 favorite]


set up a mefi "networking" system, and watch how quick the job seekers get a job

MeFi is a networking site. But restless_nomad is only partly Jewish.
posted by jessamyn (staff) at 5:32 AM on March 28, 2012


mefipotism
posted by mullacc at 9:05 AM on March 28, 2012


I've done this for a number of MeFites and would be happy to again. I'll add my details to the wiki page as soon as I remember my password for it.
posted by Happy Dave at 9:45 AM on March 28, 2012


Could I put some of you down as references?
just vouch for me doing, like, whatever
posted by TwelveTwo at 11:45 AM on March 28, 2012


cashman: So yeah, forget the resume reviewing, set up a mefi "networking" system, and watch how quick the job seekers get a job. Heck, it is probably already happening on some of the unofficial mefi sites. Why wouldn't it be.

This is what the Jobs subsite is pretty muh intended to do, I think.
posted by misha at 2:43 PM on March 28, 2012


much
posted by misha at 2:44 PM on March 28, 2012


So, after I get my resumé reviewed, who wants to loan me an interview suit?
posted by lekvar at 4:00 PM on March 28, 2012


Several I even applied for after I'd already been being paid for doing the job.

Bwaaah?

The first job I had was a college job. I never applied for it. I poked my head in a new lab and the professor who oversaw them said, "What do you want?" I said, "A job?" He said, "There's hours if you can work them." That was the interview and application process. I worked that job for a year before HR said they had to have an application on file. Within two years I was doing all the hiring and firing at that place. I was better at it than he was (I mostly hired my friends, since I knew their skill sets).

My next job the manager of a bookstore I was a customer at said, "Too bad you already have a job..." I started working that weekend. It was weeks later before I "applied."

My next job I was hand selected by the guy leaving the position.

Only the job I currently hold did I do the traditional cover and resume. I was also supposed to do an application, but only after I already had a job offer did I actually fill one out.

I realize I'm an anecdote, but in my experience the cover letter and resume are secondary. I am not diminishing their importance. I'm just saying they aren't the be all and end all.
posted by cjorgensen at 5:24 PM on March 28, 2012


TwelveTwo: "Could I put some of you down as references?
just vouch for me doing, like, whatever
"

To whom it may concern,

I have known TwelveTwo (if that's his real name) since like, forever. When I say know, I don't mean know know, more of internet know know, y'know? But he seems alright and not stalkery at all (unless that's your sort of thing, in which case he's your man)
Anyway, I'm sure he'll be real good at wrangling cattle or whatever y'all do over at your place. Good luck with that and please don't call me if he sets fire to your pants.
posted by arcticseal at 6:53 PM on March 28, 2012 [2 favorites]


...more of internet know know, y'know?

Like webcam sex?
posted by cjorgensen at 7:57 AM on March 29, 2012


There was a pony involved but we're not allowed to talk about it.
posted by arcticseal at 7:40 AM on March 30, 2012


Non-Disclosure Agreement with Hasbro.
posted by TwelveTwo at 11:36 AM on March 30, 2012 [1 favorite]


« Older confused about how to successfully ask anonymously   |   Help me find a comment about an American in an... Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments