22 posts tagged with review.
Displaying 1 through 22 of 22. Subscribe:

Silenced all my life - videogame reviews

In the tail end of the thread about Bioshock: Infinite and the state of games criticism, Riton and others expressed interest in a review site by Mefites. This is a MeTa to see if there's enough interest in the idea and if so, to hash out the details. [more inside]
posted by ersatz on Oct 25, 2013 - 60 comments

OKCupid Profile Reviewers?

I could have sworn that somewhere there is list of MeFites willing to review OKC profiles but I can't seem to find it. Am I making that up? Maybe there was just a post with people who said they were willing to do it? (I know I can post it to the green but I'm not entirely comfortable doing that for now.)
posted by Room 641-A on Aug 20, 2013 - 15 comments

Getting good at writing FPPs

Am still a relative newbie here, and finding MetaFilter a fascinating source of high quality / low noise information and interesting stuff. But am struggling a bit with writing FPPs. So far, have had 7 go up, but 4 pulled. Stressing that am not complaining; every time there's been a reason politely given why, and I've retrospectively thought "Yeah, that's a fair point." But it would be nice to consistently put up interesting and always legitimate FPPs. I feel a bit that am learning the ropes of doing proper FPPs by trial and (often) error - perhaps have gotten practice on other forums, that are slightly or very different to Metafilter, hardwired into me and it's difficult to spot other than retrospectively when it's pointed out. Is there a sandbox area, or some other mechanism for getting other people to look at one's FPP before it goes 'live', to see that it's legitimate (beyond the clear warnings not to self-promote) in terms of content and style and any other criteria? I have no problem with constructive criticism, peer review et al.
posted by Wordshore on Sep 14, 2012 - 97 comments

Resume / cover letter review group

This might not be what meta talk is for, but is there a metafilter resume / cover letter review group? [more inside]
posted by satori_movement on Mar 27, 2012 - 34 comments

Typos shall not stand!

Pony request: In an effort to save people from their own mistakes how about an extremely minimal editing ability for comments? [more inside]
posted by RolandOfEld on Nov 30, 2011 - 56 comments

2010 MeFiLiveBlog

MeFi Liveblogging 2010 Year in Review! Please share your favorite (or not so favorite but memorable) posts to MetaFilter from last year that were about events unfolding live in real-time. [more inside]
posted by Burhanistan on Jan 1, 2011 - 12 comments

Opinions are like [...]

Being in such a good community has its perks. One of my favorites is the trust we all share in regards to recommendations (which is especially obvious in AskMe). So I was wondering if there is a possiblity of creating a MeFi off-shoot vis-à-vis Epinions or Amazon. If this has been discussed and/or considered before, many apologies, but I didn't find anything to satisfy the question after a quick search.
posted by litterateur on Jun 25, 2009 - 38 comments

context is for quitters

Kottke highlights aeschenkarnos' facetious review of "the outside".
posted by pwally on Apr 1, 2008 - 60 comments

Your Favorite Band/Album/Film/Book/Techie thing Sucks Filter

#1 Said. Can we come to some consensus with MetaReviews and get something rolling? I'm not trying to be a pesterbuggy, especially in light of all of the cool new things going on here, but a nice MetaReviews/Recommends would be teh awesome! (I'm posting this because I watched a film today that would probably be the first film that I would actually write about in more than a decade.)
posted by snsranch on Jun 3, 2007 - 51 comments

reviews.metafilter.com

Can I suggest 'reviews.metafilter.com'? [more inside]
posted by feelinglistless on Jun 3, 2006 - 45 comments

David Pogue makes a comment

David Pogue replies in David Pogue is the rudest man alive! thread.
posted by MonkeySaltedNuts on Jun 1, 2006 - 51 comments

#1 in the NYT

#1 reviews a browser and a picture frame in today's New York Times.
posted by killdevil on Dec 8, 2005 - 29 comments

Product review subsection

As a consumer, I've had a few very good and very bad experiences with service providers, recently. It'd be great if MetaFilter had a subsection to share these experiences to help the community share the joy and avoid the pain. Reviewing products and services where more people will see them is great way to improve services for everyone, and would have the potential for greater effect than discussing these things on our own weblogs. Perhaps this would be another way to harness the community positively in the way Ask MetaFilter has. How about it?
posted by nthdegx on May 21, 2005 - 32 comments

MeTa "review" on GreenCine

I came across the following adline on the GreenCine main page:
"The best thing in entertainment since cave paintings!" -Metatalk posting
Previously noted in passing on the green here. Google isn't helping me locate where they might have gotten this quote from any MeFi posting. Any ideas?
posted by ChrisTN on Mar 14, 2005 - 12 comments

A horrible way to begin a discussion

IMHO, this is a horrible way to begin a discussion of a controversial film.
posted by subgenius on Feb 23, 2004 - 39 comments

a movie review on MeFi?

Even if you are a not a real mefi "purist" (and I am an admitted newsfilter violator) is this site really for posting a movie review?
posted by Ignatius J. Reilly on May 25, 2003 - 34 comments

So what did YOU think about the new Spiderman?

The thread in question. I understand that some sort of precedent was set with the Spiderman thread last spring (or was it something before that?), but can't we, I don't know, reverse the precedent? [more]
posted by The God Complex on Dec 18, 2002 - 33 comments

I really liked that movie -> FPP

Is this thread front page material? [more inside]
posted by Hildago on Sep 3, 2002 - 55 comments

Far Eastern Economic Review on weblogs

I was reading a month-old issue of the Far Eastern Economic Review after dinner tonight and found -- surprise, surprise -- an article on weblogs that I don't remember having read about here. The article isn't available for free on the FEER site anymore, but thanks to the magic of Google caching you can all read it: "Here's Where The Party Is" by Jeremy Wagstaff. Short and sweet.
posted by lia on Mar 3, 2002 - 1 comment

Neale's MSBlog review is a gag, right?

Neale's MSBlog review is a gag, right?
posted by brownpau on Feb 21, 2002 - 15 comments

But... but... one-star?!?

Metafilter in one-star review shock! But wait - we can do something about this...
posted by feelinglistless on Nov 24, 2001 - 49 comments

Reviews of every upgrade to web browsing software

OK ok, I've learnt my lesson: Don't link on a dare.
posted by holloway on May 9, 2001 - 2 comments

Page: 1