OKCupid Profile Reviewers? August 20, 2013 4:15 PM   Subscribe

I could have sworn that somewhere there is list of MeFites willing to review OKC profiles but I can't seem to find it. Am I making that up? Maybe there was just a post with people who said they were willing to do it? (I know I can post it to the green but I'm not entirely comfortable doing that for now.)
posted by Room 641-A to MetaFilter-Related at 4:15 PM (15 comments total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Not your answer exactly, but that's a pretty common pastime in chat.
posted by griphus at 4:19 PM on August 20, 2013 [1 favorite]


This?
posted by ActingTheGoat at 4:23 PM on August 20, 2013


There's also the Volunteer Mefite Portrait Photographers page on the wiki, though that's not really quite it either. I remember some discussion of the idea of profile critiques but searching so far I've only found Metatalk threads talking about semi-related policy issues, not any sort of organization of that specific idea.
posted by cortex (staff) at 4:23 PM on August 20, 2013 [3 favorites]


Meta is on FIRE tonight!

( oh god someone get the ladders and foam sprayers meta is on fire tonight.)
posted by The Whelk at 4:33 PM on August 20, 2013 [3 favorites]


Sorry, I ate all the foam on my ice cream sundae. We still have ladders though, I think.
posted by aubilenon at 4:54 PM on August 20, 2013


ActingTheGoat, that is the thread I was thinking of. I'll also wander into chat, thanks!
posted by Room 641-A at 5:22 PM on August 20, 2013


Foam ladders for meta sprayage
posted by oceanjesse at 5:58 PM on August 20, 2013


Whoa. I wish there was a Volunteer Mefite Portrait Photographer in Philadelphia!
posted by lazaruslong at 6:32 PM on August 20, 2013


I didn't know about the volunteer photographers page! That's super neat. Added myself.
posted by rhapsodie at 7:04 PM on August 20, 2013 [1 favorite]


I will cruelly mock and deride your OKC (or any other dating) profile for a reasonable fee.
posted by planetesimal at 8:44 PM on August 20, 2013


All my ex left me with was a sock in the nose. Would you take that in payment?
posted by carsonb at 10:28 PM on August 20, 2013


Chat seems to be buzzing with this! We've helped with a few profiles today for those who have swung by. There's always people on hand, so don't be shy about dropping and getting us in a chitter about how cute your photos are.
posted by Conspire at 11:23 PM on August 20, 2013 [3 favorites]


I added myself to the volunteer photographer list too!
posted by capricorn at 8:28 AM on August 21, 2013


Go to chat.

Seriously, go to chat. We handle helping with OKCupid profiles at least once a week.
posted by corb at 8:58 AM on August 21, 2013


MeMail me your OKC profile. I will read it carefully and provide you with feedback using citations from respected, peer reviewed academic journals. If you don't have access to those journals I will gladly provide you with a PDF copy of the articles. If this approach is too formal and cerebral, you may ask for a mansplained critique instead.
posted by humanfont at 3:44 PM on August 21, 2013 [5 favorites]


« Older I realize that "best of the web" isn't a hard and...   |   Better dead than Redd! Reddshit, not threadshit! Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments