15 posts tagged with preview and bugs.
Displaying 1 through 15 of 15. Subscribe:

Linebreaks in preview on AskMe.

AskMe apparently trims line breaks from posts. I guess I understand this, but it would be nice if it also happened in the preview. In preview, my line breaks were still intact, so I hit the post button, and now my post looks a bit silly. Not the end of the world, but I figure it can't be intentional.
posted by bingo on Jan 15, 2006 - 12 comments

Preview Bugs in Opera

As noted here, Opera has a bunch of bugs wtih the live preview (vs. safari or firefox.)
Of course MI
posted by filmgeek on Sep 8, 2005 - 11 comments

Preview breaks html character entities.

HTML entities, like Π or Σ get converted in the input area to the actual displayed characters after a preview.

So when the comment is posted, the displayed characters -- not the entities -- are actually submitted, and the submitted displayed characters are then converted to question marks in the posted comment.

The result is that a preview that looked fine turns into a comment that doesn't.

Also: using the
 tag (say to preserve original whitespace) results in double-spaced lines, taking up too much vertical space. Using the  tag prevents this, but whitespace is not preserved. Adding   appears to be a (n ugly and hard to edit) work-around, but while leading non-breaking spaces within  tags are retained in previews, they are stripped in the posted comment.

As a number of askMefi's ask for program code, and as even some FPPs may contain code fragments, this makes the code unreadable or even syntactically incorrect in languages than foolishly assign meaning to whitespace.

And it's a pure pain to spend the time to carefully add the whitespace and to Google the correct HTML entities for a post, only to see them stripped out.

(Browser: Firefox 1.0.3)

posted by orthogonality on Apr 27, 2005 - 70 comments

A malformed anchor tag breaks the preview page.

Posting with a malformed anchor tag makes a mess of the preview page, and comment text is gone when you hit Back to fix it. [more details inside]
posted by odinsdream on Apr 11, 2005 - 7 comments

Invalid data contribute

Invalid data contribute,post_comment_preview.cfm for CFSQLTYPE CF_SQL_INTEGER. I'm getting this every time I click on comment preview , therefore I can't post :-(
It appears that the problem may be related to this 2002 one. Full debug text inside
posted by elpapacito on Oct 27, 2004 - 5 comments

Preview bug

When previewing a comment to a MeTa thread, the links to separate comments behind the time is broken, it links to http://metatalk.metafilter.com/contribute/metadetail.cfm?link_ID=xxxx#yyyyyy (which doesn't exist) instead of http://metatalk.metafilter.com/mefi/xxxx#yyyyyy.
posted by fvw on Jun 16, 2004 - 5 comments

Weird Character Entity Behavior

If you include a character entity in text for preview then it is displayed correctly and appears (as the appropriate character) in the edit area. However, when you click post, the character is converted to "?" (ie. posting character entities is OK, but if they're previewed then they're converted to the equivalent extended character, which is not accepted by "post").
posted by andrew cooke on Jan 3, 2004 - 5 comments

Mozilla Preview Issue

Anyone else having problems with comment preview in Mozilla 1.3?
posted by nofundy on Apr 28, 2003 - 5 comments

Just tried to hit preview for a comment and got an error page....

I just tried to hit preview for a comment to 16366 and got an error page. This happens nowhere else. Not that the comment is of earthshaking urgency but it is pertinent... If it's on my end, yikes, what can I do, in the as read to a chimp version?
posted by y2karl on Apr 15, 2002 - 8 comments

Problem with Preview

Preview is badly broken, at least under IE 5.1 on Mac OS X. Details inside.
posted by nicwolff on Feb 14, 2002 - 5 comments

fixed a couple long-standing bugs

I finally fixed a couple long-standing bugs. One, when you used <blockquote> in a comment, the preview page would look screwy, but upon submission, it would appear fine. That is fixed. The second, as mentioned by nicwolff below, had to do with the preview not being an exact preview of the comment after submission. That has been fixed, and the special code clean up that is done on submission is done on preview.
posted by mathowie on Dec 21, 2001 - 24 comments

Preview Bugs

I was wondering why the Preview Comment page referred to being able to edit it "below" but there was no way to edit. I happened to have my Javascript console open today:



JavaScript Error: http://www.metafilter.com/contribute/post_comment_preview.cfm, line 443:

this.style has no properties.

posted by SEWilco on Oct 16, 2001 - 2 comments

Comment text disappearing after preview.

Editing weirdness. Is it just my lack of standards compliant browser (all I ask for is a browser that is compliant, supports imap mail and runs on linux) or what? Tried to post a comment and previewed. Last night there was nothing to edit "below" and back erased everything. Today at one point I could edit below, then I couldn't although back left text in place. Neither seems to be true here (talk not mefi).
posted by noether on Jun 8, 2001 - 6 comments

I can't post comments using the new prevent-double-post-code

Boy, I hate to gripe, but using Opera 3.6, *blush* I can't post comments using the new prevent-double-post-code. It always previews, I'm guessing it's coz both the preview and post buttons have the name 'post.'
posted by sonofsamiam on Jan 27, 2001 - 4 comments

Preview again....

I was wondering if MetaFilter's tendancy to turn character codes into the characters they represent is because of the preview process, and that's why I'm testing this: < >
posted by Bane on Jul 9, 2000 - 6 comments

Page: 1