128 posts tagged with preview.
Displaying 51 through 100 of 128. Subscribe:

Linebreaks in preview on AskMe.

AskMe apparently trims line breaks from posts. I guess I understand this, but it would be nice if it also happened in the preview. In preview, my line breaks were still intact, so I hit the post button, and now my post looks a bit silly. Not the end of the world, but I figure it can't be intentional.
posted by bingo on Jan 15, 2006 - 12 comments

I behaved myself, but there seem to be loopholes

Having just made an FPP, I can still get to the posting page by pasting the "post_good.mefi" link. I can also put in any user id and it still gets me into preview. I didn't dare to hit post though to see if that works, but I thought I'd point it out.
posted by goodnewsfortheinsane on Jan 12, 2006 - 16 comments

Why does mousing over a user's comment show username instead of user number?

In Metatalk and Ask Metafilter, when previewing a comment, mousing over a username produces their /username.mefi/username, instead of their user number. Why? [more inside]
posted by goodnewsfortheinsane on Jan 7, 2006 - 18 comments

Projects formatting is suboptimal

projects doesn't have the usual wonderful (and i don't mean that at all) auto-format line break thing. but preview preserves html markup. so i'm kinda pissed that posting deletes the markup i added, leaving me with a lumpy squashed-together run-on paragraph thing.

how about some consistency in the use interfaces round here?
posted by andrew cooke on Jan 6, 2006 - 56 comments

Stuck inside comment previews

Please include a link to the thread itself when stuck inside comment preview mode.
posted by nixerman on Jan 4, 2006 - 26 comments

Make tag and category links work on preview

Make tag and category links work on preview
posted by Sharcho on Dec 2, 2005 - 13 comments

Preview on the main page keeps wrecking my FPP

Preview on the main page keeps wrecking my FPP.
posted by penguin pie on Nov 17, 2005 - 23 comments

HTML color command works in the live preview, but not in the actual post

HTML color command works in the live preview, but not in the actual post. On purpose or an oversight?
posted by PurplePorpoise on Oct 15, 2005 - 1 comment

Descriptive text error on AskMe preview page

Descriptive text error on AskMe preview page (+)
posted by blag on Sep 21, 2005 - 3 comments

'Preview' only works once?

'Preview' only works once?
posted by The Jesse Helms on Sep 15, 2005 - 5 comments

Form wording

On the AskMe preview page, the following text appears: "If everything seems right, hit the post button below. If not, hit your browser's back button and tweak the form again." How about: "...If not, edit below and hit the preview button again to confirm your changes before posting." or some such wording referencing the ability to edit ON the preview page?
This isn't really a bug, but it seemed the closest category
posted by birdsquared on Sep 14, 2005 - 3 comments

HTML Markup in AskMe

When creating an ordered list (and possibly a bulleted list) for an AxeMe question, it shows up in the preview in Times New Roman. It appears fine when posted.
posted by keswick on Sep 12, 2005 - 6 comments

Preview Bugs in Opera

As noted here, Opera has a bunch of bugs wtih the live preview (vs. safari or firefox.)
Of course MI
posted by filmgeek on Sep 8, 2005 - 11 comments

Is there any way to indicate that a thread has been closed when using comment preview?

Feature Request: Is there any way to indicate that a thread has been closed when using comment preview?
posted by loquacious on Sep 8, 2005 - 12 comments

Opera Bug with Live Preview

Did the addition of live preview break comment posting in Opera? Comments still get posted, but on submit, the page never refreshes, and just sits there and spins.

Are other Opera users having this problem, or just me?
posted by Caviar on Aug 20, 2005 - 17 comments

Request: A way to disable live preview.

I *hate* the live preview feature. There, I said it.
posted by interrobang on Jul 27, 2005 - 77 comments

I LOVE Live Preview. Thanks Matt !!

I LOVE Live Preview. Thanks Matt !!

It's always been so hard to imagine what your post is going to look like when you use bold, italics or worst of all with links. I think this will really improve posting readability factor.

On preview, didn't realize it wasn't in MetaTalk too. But I'm being greedy. It's wonderful to have in MeFi and AskME.

(Sorry if this is a repeat. My MetaTalk search timed out.)
posted by marsha56 on Jul 27, 2005 - 16 comments

AskMe bugs

TwoBugsInAskMetaFilterFilter... [mi]
posted by dirtynumbangelboy on Jul 24, 2005 - 12 comments

Live Preview display should match comment entry pls

A pony: Can the Live Preview box be displayed in the same fashion as the actual posts on the page? More specifically, rather than being indented to the same margins as the comment entry box, can it be shown with the same margins as the actual posts on the page?
posted by Jairus on Jul 22, 2005 - 14 comments

Live preview fixes some things but they still want more....

The live preview window seems to have fixed the old character entity problem... kinda. As long as you use hexadecimal character codes, things turn out fine. The annoying days of "????" "Oops, I meant ????" "Shit, make that ????" are almost over.

Since we're already so close, could we get one of the following?
1) Put a note under the text box reminding new users to use hex codes only.
2) Fix it so character names and decimal character codes work too.
posted by nebulawindphone on Jul 21, 2005 - 38 comments

Love preview, but can't see it

I like the new "instant preview" feature in the blue, but in the preview window, I'm seeing black text on a blue background -- in other words, not terribly well.
posted by alumshubby on Jul 21, 2005 - 11 comments

New feature: live comment preview

I'm trying out live comment preview, graciously programmed by kokogiak. It should work in major browsers and fall back to the old preview pages for browsers without js support. Let me know if you find any bugs, or have any comments about it.
posted by mathowie on Jul 20, 2005 - 242 comments

Minor quibbles about AskMe

Two minor improvements to the Ask MetaFilter posting page: the Preview should include the [more inside] notification, and the button should say "Preview the question" instead of "Preview the link."
posted by kirkaracha on Jul 14, 2005 - 4 comments

Preview AskMe tweaks

When previewing a question on AskMe, under the "Your Question" field is the description for the "Extended Explanation" field: This will be the "more inside" area where you explain additional details about the question if necessary. If you use this space, don't write "more inside" to the question area, it will automatically be added for you.
posted by rhapsodie on Jun 28, 2005 - 6 comments

Wording of the preview button on AskMe

When posting a question to AskMefi or a thread on MetaTalk, the preview button says "Preview the Link." Should it say "Preview the question" or "Preview the post" instead? (Is no nit too small for picking?)
posted by patgas on Jun 6, 2005 - 3 comments

Foreign characters get turned into question marks upon posting

Foreign characters (chinese in this case) are previewed correctly, but get turned into question marks upon posting. It'd be nice if the behaviour was consistent.
posted by mosch on Jun 6, 2005 - 12 comments

Preview breaks html character entities.

HTML entities, like Π or Σ get converted in the input area to the actual displayed characters after a preview.

So when the comment is posted, the displayed characters -- not the entities -- are actually submitted, and the submitted displayed characters are then converted to question marks in the posted comment.

The result is that a preview that looked fine turns into a comment that doesn't.

Also: using the
 tag (say to preserve original whitespace) results in double-spaced lines, taking up too much vertical space. Using the  tag prevents this, but whitespace is not preserved. Adding   appears to be a (n ugly and hard to edit) work-around, but while leading non-breaking spaces within  tags are retained in previews, they are stripped in the posted comment.

As a number of askMefi's ask for program code, and as even some FPPs may contain code fragments, this makes the code unreadable or even syntactically incorrect in languages than foolishly assign meaning to whitespace.

And it's a pure pain to spend the time to carefully add the whitespace and to Google the correct HTML entities for a post, only to see them stripped out.

(Browser: Firefox 1.0.3)

posted by orthogonality on Apr 27, 2005 - 70 comments

A malformed anchor tag breaks the preview page.

Posting with a malformed anchor tag makes a mess of the preview page, and comment text is gone when you hit Back to fix it. [more details inside]
posted by odinsdream on Apr 11, 2005 - 7 comments

Pony: pagination, and preview for the actual comment

Last alluded to here: None of the redesign entries (unless I missed something) addressed the "comments by user" page, which is probably the clunkiest and least usable feature on the site. Long comment histories take forever to load (and tax the server); and you can't actually see any of the comments without clicking on each individual link. I think pagination, plus an ability to preview the actual comment, would be a great help.
posted by Saucy Intruder on Feb 6, 2005 - 17 comments

Redesign status update request

You'll see it when I'm done with it, I don't know what else to say. Sorry it's taken so long, but I've been a bit busy the past month.

Didn't you say you were using some of the newbie windfall to hire a coding helper to help advance all the vaporware projects? Is this happening or have you changed your mind and decided to continue to do it all yourself in your spare time?
posted by rushmc on Feb 5, 2005 - 30 comments

Can we get a preview of the new site design?

I'm highly interested in the new design of Metafilter. Is there any chance we could get a preview? I understand that we were able to view the winning designs, but I was under the impression that it would incorporate elements from all of the good ones, so I'd like a peek, as I'm sure the rest of the site would.
posted by angry modem on Feb 5, 2005 - 1 comment

Have I been banned?

Have I been banned, or is "preview comments" simply not working?

Trying to add a comment to:
http://www.metafilter.com/mefi/39106

Hit "preview" and I get a "Preview Comment:" but no preview, and then the "Home About Archives MetaTalk Post Customize Search Etc " navbar.

Is this a bug, or by design?
posted by meehawl on Jan 30, 2005 - 3 comments

Invalid data contribute

Invalid data contribute,post_comment_preview.cfm for CFSQLTYPE CF_SQL_INTEGER. I'm getting this every time I click on comment preview , therefore I can't post :-(
It appears that the problem may be related to this 2002 one. Full debug text inside
posted by elpapacito on Oct 27, 2004 - 5 comments

Why was my comment deleted?

Is there a reason why my really innocuous comment in this thread was deleted? I think I said something like, "Ahhh, the benefits of the scientific method...", or some-such nonsense...

Just wondering if I did something wrong ... or did something go kablooie?
posted by jpburns on Sep 27, 2004 - 7 comments

Post missing on preview screen

When I try to post a comment to this thread my post is completely missing on the preview screen. The coment is plain text, and I'm using Firefox 0.9.2, which has worked here so far.
posted by Songdog on Sep 16, 2004 - 1 comment

Preview bug

When previewing a comment to a MeTa thread, the links to separate comments behind the time is broken, it links to http://metatalk.metafilter.com/contribute/metadetail.cfm?link_ID=xxxx#yyyyyy (which doesn't exist) instead of http://metatalk.metafilter.com/mefi/xxxx#yyyyyy.
posted by fvw on Jun 16, 2004 - 5 comments

HTML tag preview problem

In asking my HTML question, I was attempting to post the representation of an HR tag inside angle brackets using character entity references, and somehow I managed to post a real-live horizontal rule instead. But it looked fine on Preview. Brackets and ampersands and semicolons, oh my! (testing inside)
posted by brownpau on Apr 5, 2004 - 10 comments

problem with HTML in link

Link gets munged on preview [more inside.]
posted by homunculus on Feb 3, 2004 - 8 comments

Where is the rest of my question?

I wanted to post a question to AskMe, which I see ok in preview but when I hit post, only 1 sentence of it comes up and I get a 404 page saying the rest of it can't be found, etc. I'm using Mozilla 1.4 on Windows XP but I tried it in IE6 and the same thing happened. What am I doing wrong?
posted by Lynsey on Jan 10, 2004 - 7 comments

Weird Character Entity Behavior

If you include a character entity in text for preview then it is displayed correctly and appears (as the appropriate character) in the edit area. However, when you click post, the character is converted to "?" (ie. posting character entities is OK, but if they're previewed then they're converted to the equivalent extended character, which is not accepted by "post").
posted by andrew cooke on Jan 3, 2004 - 5 comments

AskMe preview confusion

When getting ready to submit a Q to AskMe, the far right button says "Preview Link", which might prove to be slightly misleading to newbies as AskMe is not required de jure or de facto to have any links. Recommend the button be changed to "Preview Questions."

Also, when looking at my most previous posts, I can find my MeTa and MeFi posts but no direct link to my AskMe posts in my profile (hey don't act like you don't do it). Might be good if we make the posts more accessable via user page.
posted by Dagobert on Dec 29, 2003 - 2 comments

Italic tags

Looks like Metafilter didn't drink its V8 today. Close your italics tags, people!
posted by PrinceValium on Nov 13, 2003 - 25 comments

Want to cut MetaFilter's bandwidth in half?

Want to cut MetaFilter's bandwidth in half? Put the comment post function in a pop-up window. More inside.
posted by squirrel on Oct 3, 2003 - 40 comments

Mozilla Preview Issue

Anyone else having problems with comment preview in Mozilla 1.3?
posted by nofundy on Apr 28, 2003 - 5 comments

Metafilter is eating my comments!

Metafilter is eating my comments! I click on "Preview" and on the next page, I get "Comment Preview" and no comment underneath. The only thing that appears underneath is the line of links: Home About Archives, etc.
posted by meep on Mar 10, 2003 - 14 comments

Mozilla bug v1.2.1

There now seems to be a Mozilla bug (version 1.2.1), perhaps related to these changes. When I press the "Preview" button in Opera, the window below "Comment Preview" disappears, along with my text. It used to be perfectly fine. And it still works in IE and Opera. But since some users here might be downloading the latest available release, I thought I'd bring it to Our Fearless Curator's attention.
posted by ed on Feb 11, 2003 - 12 comments

On preview: who cares?

On preview: who cares? [more inside]
posted by kirkaracha on Feb 4, 2003 - 18 comments

No comment preview in Mozilla

Using Mozilla, I no longer get a comment preview, and therefore cannot post comments on MeFi proper without launching the dreaded MSIE.
posted by xyzzy on Feb 2, 2003 - 7 comments

I can't post comments at all

I can't post comments at all: when I click "Preview", I do not see any preview and there is no "Post Comment" button. It's not a browser-display issue; I checked the page source and no preview or submit form is being sent.
posted by Mars Saxman on Sep 19, 2002 - 16 comments

While in the comment preview, links to use info don't work.

While in the comment preview, links to use info don't work. [detail inside]
posted by Su on Jul 24, 2002 - 2 comments

Page: 1 2 3